MSU Human Resources >> Recognition >> Support-staff >> Jack Breslin Distinguished Staff Award

Jack Breslin Distinguished Staff Award

Award Nomination Information

MSU is seeking nominations for one of the most prestigious commendations bestowed upon employees at Michigan State University—the Jack Breslin Distinguished Staff Award . This award is presented annually to six university support staff members selected by the Jack Breslin Distinguished Staff Award Selection Committee from all nominations received.

The award is named in honor of Jack Breslin, who served Michigan State University as a student leader, honored athlete, top administrator and steadfast advocate. Jack was the personification of the “Spartan Spirit.” His strong and innovative leadership played a pivotal role in MSU’s growth and development as the nation’s premier land grant institution.

You now have the opportunity to nominate someone at MSU who exemplifies the qualities displayed by Jack Breslin, and whose attainment of excellence deserves this special recognition. Criteria for selection of recipients include overall excellence in job performance, supportive attitude and contributions to the unit or university that lead to improved efficiency or effectiveness, and valuable service to the university. Nominees must be regular, active employees with at least five years of service in a support staff role at MSU or an approved affiliate of MSU. 

Since 1978, 276 recipients have been honored. Recipients receive a $2500 award and are recognized with a citation.

Click here to download the instructions and nomination form, which are due on November 3, 2023 for 2023-2024 awards.

Please note, approval of the nominee's supervisor is now required along with submission of the nomination form. The form includes space for the supervisor's signature. The supervisor's approval confirms that the employee meets the award eligibility criteria, is in good standing with a recent performance review, and has not previously received the award

Contact Human Resources at 517-353-4434 with questions.

Past Winners List

Annual Awards Ceremony Information

Check back in early 2024 for event details. 

In the meantime, enjoy reviewing material from last year's winners and event: