Jack Breslin, Ruth Jameyson, & Gliozzo Clerical-Technical







Order of Events

Reception

Noon - 12:30 p.m.

Introductory Remarks

12:30 - 12:45 p.m.

Ray Gasser

Chairperson, Award Selection Committee

Kevin Guskiewicz

University President

Vennie Gore

Executive Vice President for Administration

Award Presentations

12:45 - 1:45 p.m.

Ruth Jameyson Award Recipient

Presented by Award Selection Committee

Clerical-Technical Award Recipient

Presented by Award Selection Committee

Jack Breslin Award Recipients

Presented by Award Selection Committee

Ruth Jameyson "Above and Beyond" Award Winner



The Ruth Jameyson "Above and Beyond" Award recognizes a support staff member who most closely exemplifies the contributions, personal characteristics, and commitment to MSU demonstrated by Ms. Jameyson, going "above and beyond" what is reasonably expected in supporting the mission of MSU.

Ms. Ruth Jameyson served as the Secretary to MSU President Robert S. Shaw from 1938 to 1941 and Secretary/Administrative Assistant to President John A. Hannah from 1941 to 1969. Ms. Jameyson was the epitome of a dedicated person possessed of dignity and grace, widely admired for her professionalism, loyalty, kindness, strength and patience. Having arrived in Lansing with a Bachelor's Degree in Mathematics from Coe College in Iowa, Ms. Jameyson pursued a Master's degree in Economics at MSU while working full time.

This award was created and funded by friends of Ruth Jameyson: Barbara Sawyer-Koch, MSU Trustee Emerita, and Donald F. Koch, MSU Professor Emeritus.

Gliozzo Clerical-Technical Recognition Award Winner



The Gliozzo Clerical-Technical Recognition Award is presented annually to a hard-working and dedicated support staff member performing clerical-technical duties.

The award winner is selected based on their extraordinary and significant contributions to the community, innovative thinking in facilitating unit tasks and responsibilities, respect for their peers, and concern for students, faculty, staff, and colleagues.

This award is given by the Thomas and Concettina Gliozzo Endowment Fund. Charles Gliozzo is director emeritus of MSU's Study Abroad program. Thomas and Concettina Gliozzo were immigrants who became U.S. citizens and valued the importance of education throughout their lives.



Jack Breslin Distinguished Staff Award Winners

Remarkable, dedicated and hardworking are just some of the words used to describe the Jack Breslin Distinguished Staff Award recipients. This award is presented annually to six university support staff members, hand-selected by the Selection Committee from nominations received by the recipients' colleagues.

Selection criteria for recipients include overall excellence in job performance, supportive attitude and contributions to the unit or university that lead to improved efficiency or effectiveness and valuable service to the university.

The award is named in honor of Jack Breslin, who served MSU as a student leader, honored athlete, top administrator and steadfast advocate. Jack was the personification of the "Spartan Spirit." His strong and innovative leadership played a pivotal role in MSU's growth and development as the nation's premier land grant institution.



Award Selection Committee Members

RUTH JAMEYSON ABOVE AND BEYOND AWARD

Nancy Craig Ray Gasser, Chairperson Shelby Gombosi

H. Michael Rice Joan Smith

GLIOZZO CLERICAL-TECHNICAL RECOGNITION AWARD

Margie Aimery Brandon Baswell Deb Bittner
Todd Bradley Melissa Del Rio Jenn Roberts

JACK BRESLIN DISTINGUISHED STAFF AWARD

Name	Department/College	Union
Ken Beer	Communication Arts & Sciences	APA
Don Donagrandi	Culinary Services Administration	APSA
Sarah Evans-Cain	Lyman Briggs	CTU
John Garcia	College of Osteopathic Medicine	CTU
Ray Gasser (Chairperson)	SLE Residence Education and Housing Services	Exec. Mgt.
Cara Ludlow	MSU Student Health Care	APA
Jeff Magnuson	Executive Development Programs	APSA
Dave Oslund	Police and Public Safety	APSA
Jacob Paivarinta	IPF Landscape Services	1585
Jamie Ramos	SLE Residence Education and Housing Services	APA
Sherri Reese	Human Resources	Exec. Mgt.
Jose Rivera	SLE Residence Education and Housing Services	1585